19
Oct
09

not greater than the master

This past weekend, I had the privilege of my nephew (Alex) visiting.  Alex is three (as of today! Happy Birthday 🙂 Alex!) and a ball of energy…so I spent most of my weekend keeping up with him and finding fun things for us to do together.  What a joy to spend so much time with my nephew…and unknown to me, God had a lesson for me this weekend…

It’s not about me.

Having full responsibility for Alex this weekend opened my eyes to just how selfless you must be when caring for children.  If I didn’t feed Alex, how would he eat and get the proper nutrition to help him grow?  If I didn’t stop him from running in the street, how would he stay safe from the busy traffic?  He is completely dependent on someone else to take care of him and look out for his best interests.

I learned this Sunday morning.  I woke up (with what I hoped thought was enough time to get ready) but Alex had different plans.  While trying to flat iron my hair, I worked on feeding him breakfast.  Then I had to get him dressed….something that does not happen quickly because he has no sense of time…and really what’s the rush at his age?  Then my phone started ringing– Allysen arrived at my apartment and was ready to go…and I have a half dressed toddler that is more interested in playing with his truck than getting dressed.

But none of this was his fault, it was poor planning on my end.  So I did something that violates one of my rules: I left my apartment without make-up.  That morning, I needed to put myself aside and attend to him first.  Next time, I’ll wake up earlier.

And as the weekend came to a close, I thought about the graciousness of God over the whole weekend…and in my life.  I thought about how Alex modeled complete dependence on me for the weekend– he had to trust me to provide and protect him.  Isn’t that what God asks of us? — He desires us to solely depend on Him.

I reflected on the eternal Father God that disciplines me to lean on Him (Proverbs 3:11-12).  At the Air & Space Museum, Alex tried to make his case as to why he needed to climb into the displays and get on the airplanes.  He was very persistent in his urging– even pushing half his body over the barriers to show that he could reach the planes.  Too often, I am like my nephew– pushing the boundaries, trying to explain to my heavenly Father why He needs to let me do something.

I thought about how often I say I trust God, but then live a life absent of leaning on the Lord to come through for me.  Instead of dependence on God, I try to reason Him into interdependence with me.  I imagine He laughs at these attempts (maybe after He squashes them?) because…

Acts 17:25

And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything, because He Himself gives all men life and breath and everything else.

Despite God not needing us and us not being equal to God (John 15:20), He invites us to the serve, John 12:26,

Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be.  My Father will honor the one who serves me.

So in closing, Psalm 16:5-6 is my prayer for myself…and for you,

Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure.   The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance.”

3 Responses to “not greater than the master”


  1. 1 Ry
    October 19, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    No makeup?!?!?!?!?!?!? I’m sure you still looked great! And remember, boyfriends need taking care of too.

  2. 2 Ry
    October 19, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    Andy by taking care of, I mean I need someone to keep me from crawling into airplanes too.

  3. 3 piedpatter
    October 19, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Kim you learned lesson #1 in child rearing, it’s not about you. Good girl, now only 475,899,432,028,459 more lessons to go.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 901 hits
<!-- RefTagger from Logos. Visit http://www.logos.com/reftagger. This code should appear directly before the tag. --> Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsBibleVersion = "NIV"; Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsLibronixLinkIcon = "light"; Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsNoSearchTagNames = [ "b", "strong", "h1", "h2", "h3" ]; Logos.ReferenceTagging.tag();

