16
Oct
09

unfailing love…all other things are rubbish

How long, O LORD?  Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and every day I have sorrow in my heart?
How long will my enemy triumph over me?

These are the words of David from Psalm 13, but sometimes these are the very words and thoughts that I have.  I wonder how David said these words aloud…did he say it in his best Ben Stein, monotone voice?  I don’t imagine he did…I imagine him on his knees, perhaps pleading with God and crying out: How long, O LORD!– will you forget me in this situation?  How long must I wrestle with my thoughts of what to do?  When will you show up, LORD?? I ask these questions of God and often the response is………..

….nothing.

He is silent.

But God, I NEED to know what’s next. I like certain answers.  God doesn’t always give answers.  I like to make decisions with guarantees.  God doesn’t always give guarantees about life.  In fact, the only guarantee He DOES give are based on His character: He can be trusted because He is holy, He is in control and He demonstrated His love for me by sacrificing His Son so that I could have eternal life with Him.  Everything else– job, friends, family, where I live– that’s all open ended.

David didn’t get answers in Psalm 13, yet he ends with,

But I trust in your unfailing love,
my heart rejoices in your salvation.
I will sing to the LORD,
for he has been good to me.

His unfailing love.  I rejoice in salvation. This truth is a reminder that my joy comes from the strength of the LORD.

And Paul’s letter to the church at Philippi counsels further on what to expect, Philippians 3:7-9:

But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.  What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ [.]

Do I really consider all things a loss and rubbish compared to knowing the greatness of Christ?  What are you afraid to lose for the sake of gaining Christ?

rejoice in the LORD. always.

1 Response to “unfailing love…all other things are rubbish”



Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 900 hits
<!-- RefTagger from Logos. Visit http://www.logos.com/reftagger. This code should appear directly before the tag. --> Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsBibleVersion = "NIV"; Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsLibronixLinkIcon = "light"; Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsNoSearchTagNames = [ "b", "strong", "h1", "h2", "h3" ]; Logos.ReferenceTagging.tag();

