07
Oct
09

trusting. leaning. acknowledging.

To-Do Lists.  Go, Go, Go.  Busyness.

Ryan sent me this article today from the Prison Fellowship Ministry, “The Busy American Family.”  The author promotes a new book, Not So Fast: Slow-Down Solutions for Frenzied Families. While I don’t have a family, I can relate to the topic (…perhaps why he sent it?).

What is the problem with being too “busy”?  As the article points out,

‘the busyness of life gets in the way of developing relationship with God.’  In a survey of over 20,000 teens and adults, 6 out 10 Christians said they were too busy for God.

We settle into becoming busy-sloths (sloth is often defined as avoiding physical or spiritual work).  I am guilty of doing this in my own life.

I first started my addiction to being a “busy-sloth” in high school, right after my parents separated.  The pain and hurt were too much for to  face– so I started doing– and doing lots of things.  Things that from a worldly perspective were “good”– activities to fill ALL my time because as long as I was doing things, I couldn’t focus on the situation at hand.  I could smash down the pain of my family being torn apart.  Avoidance was my solution.

And the cycle is incredibly hard to break, because  I did it again in college.

Running is exhausting though.  Eventually you are forced to stop because you just can’t go anymore.

And what’s left?  The pain is still there and you are too tired to move.

God stepped in for me (I’m sure He tried many times before, but I was too stubborn to listen).

There was humbling to be done.  He had to teach me that I couldn’t do things on my own.  One of the first passages that really stuck with me (and hangs in my bathroom today), Proverbs 3: 5,6:

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.

When I read this verse, I am reminded:  I need to trust Him, I need to lean on Him, I need to acknowledge Him.  ONLY He can make my paths straight for me to walk.

Lately, I have felt myself slipping back into being a busy-sloth.  I make excuses, “I can’t say no!” or “If I don’t do it, who will?” but really, what I am avoiding?

And it hurts.  I feel empty when my life gets “too busy” for God.  His truth sanctifies; it cleanses out all the emotional gunk and replaces it with His peace that passes all understanding.

David’s prayers in Psalm 63 resonate with me and remind me why I feel this way…Psalm 63: 1-5:

O God, you are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you,
my body longs for you,
in a dry and weary land
where there is no water.

I have seen you in the sanctuary
and beheld your power and your glory.

Because your love is better than life,
my lips will glorify you.

I will praise you as long as I live,
and in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods;
with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

1 Response to “trusting. leaning. acknowledging.”


  1. 1 piedpatter
    October 7, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Busyness is a distraction. Like everything else it can become our god. I am a firm believer in slowing everything down. I want my children to have life not filled with schedules and overly structured organized play but with moments of freedom and bliss, and laughing loudly.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 899 hits
<!-- RefTagger from Logos. Visit http://www.logos.com/reftagger. This code should appear directly before the tag. --> Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsBibleVersion = "NIV"; Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsLibronixLinkIcon = "light"; Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsNoSearchTagNames = [ "b", "strong", "h1", "h2", "h3" ]; Logos.ReferenceTagging.tag();

