20
Mar
09

The Stand– go ahead, pray twice.

Music has an amazing way of connecting and digging up emotions that you didn’t know you had inside. I’ve always enjoyed listening to music– especially reading lyrics.

My Grandpa Paul used to always tell me, “When you sing, you pray twice.” I didn’t know at the time that he was quoting St. Augustine, I just thought Grandpa was trying to hook me up with a way out of prayer!

{Christmas 2005}

Nope, he wasn’t, but Grandpa was a wise, wise man, God rest his soul.
So I share with you, The Stand, by Frontline worship band:

The lyrics that resonate with me the most in this song:
You stand before my failure/Carried the Cross for my shame/My sin weighed upon Your shoulders/My soul now to stand.

So what can I say/What can I do/But offer this heart O God/Completely to You.
I love the acknowledgment of what Christ did for us– He took our sin that upon Him and nailed it to the cross. I love the question of “What can I say, what can I do?” And then the realization that the only thing to do is to offer ourselves up to the Lord.
My other favorite part of this song:
So I’ll stand/With arms high and heart abandoned/In awe of the One who gave it all.

So I’ll stand/My soul Lord to You surrendered/All I am is Yours.
Stephanie has an amazing voice to sing this song out to the Lord. Check her out on Itunes.
Come join us— and pray twice! 🙂
0 Responses to “The Stand– go ahead, pray twice.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 899 hits
<!-- RefTagger from Logos. Visit http://www.logos.com/reftagger. This code should appear directly before the tag. --> Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsBibleVersion = "NIV"; Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsLibronixLinkIcon = "light"; Logos.ReferenceTagging.lbsNoSearchTagNames = [ "b", "strong", "h1", "h2", "h3" ]; Logos.ReferenceTagging.tag();

